the night cafe

The Night Café explore heartbreak in “Mixed Signals”

After bonding at secondary school over a shared love for The Beatles, The Coral and Bombay Bicycle Club among others, The Night Café are on a high in the lead-up to the release of their debut LP. On the 18th July, the band released the melancholic “Mixed Signals” – a brand-new version of an EP single from 2017.

“Mixed Signals” takes us through heartbreak and a failed relationship. As always, The Night Café have wonderfully blended the joys of pop and rock with painful situations. “You went and changed and didn’t need me”, exclaims the band. They ponder on the loneliness the protagonist finds himself in, smoking a cigarette alone in a dark, empty room. Compared to the 2017 version, the track now has darker undertones and stronger, more immediate guitar riffs. This couldn’t have come at a better time, as it follows on nicely from the reborn “Finders Keepers” – which we also reviewed recently (link below).

In conclusion, The Night Café’s new reworking of “Mixed Singles” has made us so excited for their debut album! Named 0151, it’s out on August 23rd.

Also, the band are heading out on a headline UK tour this autumn and winter. Moreover, they’re supporting Sundara Karma and The Hunna on their tours – very exciting! Check out the dates below.

The Night Café UK tour dates and venues:

21 September – The Academy Dublin, Ireland.
22 September – McHughs Basement Bar Belfast, N. Ireland.
25 September – The Waterfront Norwich.
26 September – O2 Institute Birmingham.
27 September – The Tramshed Cardiff.
28 September – SWX Bristol.
30 September – O2 Academy Oxford.

01 October  – Sub 89 Reading.
03 October – 1865 Southampton.
04 October  – Electric Ballroom London.
07 October  – The Junction Cambridge.
08 October – Rock City Nottingham.
09 October – Albert Hall Manchester.
12 October – The Plug Sheffield.
13 October – Riverside Newcastle.
15 October  – The Tunnels Aberdeen.
16 October  – SWG3 Glasgow.
17 October – Stylus Leeds.
18 October – Olympia Liverpool.

For my review of The Night Café’s previous single, click here. 

Finally, be sure to keep an eye out on new releases via this link. Music wise, there is lots of great stuff coming over the next few months, so watch this space!

From Sophia with Love x 

Please follow and like us: