Pixies unveil brilliant new track ‘Catfish Kate’

Rock icons Pixies have unveiled a new track from their upcoming seventh studio album Beneath The Eyrie. The new and wonderful ‘Catfish Kate’ follows on from their June single ‘On Graveyard Hill’. 

First and foremost, if you’re looking for a track that is flooding with multiple layers of guitars, then you’re in luck. Here, the guitar riffs are rhythmic and have some glorious solos. Paz Lenchantin’s bassline is also fuzzy, giving the track a warm feel. Moreover, Black Francis’ lovely vocals are always a treat to hear.

The band’s seventh LP offering will be produced by Tom Dalgety, who also worked on the last Pixies album Head Carrier (2016). A press release has described the new album in the following manner: “where tales of witches, Daniel Boone, misfits and other characters fit utterly into the band’s inherent weirdness.” With this in mind, this will a very exciting release indeed.

Along with from the new album, Pixies have been recording their new musical endeavours in a fab podcast from music journalist Tony Fletcher. It is now seven episodes in and you can check it out here. 

Beneath The Eyrie will be out on 13th September via Infectious/BMG. Created by animators Krank! Collective, the animated music video for ‘Catfish Kate’ tells the story of a mountain woman’s mission to catch fish and the weirdness that follows. Check it out below!

It is certainly a busy time for the Boston rockers. In September, Pixies will be heading out on a 11-date UK and Ireland tour!

Check out the September dates below:

13: Cardiff Motorpoint Arena
14: Plymouth Pavilions
16: Birmingham O2 Academy
17: Leeds O2 Academy
18: Manchester O2 Apollo
20: London Alexandra Palace
21: Newcastle O2 Academy
22: Glasgow O2 Academy
23: Edinburgh Usher Hall
26: Dublin Olympia.

Click here to keep up-to-date with new releases.

From Sophia with Love x 


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply